All Collections
Payroll
Payroll History
Adjust or Delete a Payroll
Adjust or Delete a Payroll

Do you need to edit or delete a payroll that you saved? These steps will walk you through the how.

L
Written by Lexi Atkinson
Updated over a week ago

How to edit a payroll

Once a payroll is approved, its values cannot be changed.

You will need to delete the entire payroll from history and run it again.

How to delete a payroll

Follow these steps:

  1. Find a past payroll by clicking on "History" in the left nav

  2. Click "Payroll History"

  3. Use the search bar or adjust the date range to locate the payroll you want to adjust or delete

  4. Click on the payroll item

  5. Click "Delete"

YTD values in Payroll History

Once a payroll run is saved to history, none of its values will recalculate including year to date amounts. YTD values will be correct in new payroll runs and reports.

Think of payroll history as a receipt. If a payroll run gets deleted, only the new payrolls and reports will reflect the updated year-to-date amounts. History won't automatically update year-to-date values.

For example:

  1. I run a payroll Monday then Tuesday. My Tuesday payroll has Monday's payroll in its YTD.

  2. I delete Monday's payroll, Tuesday's payroll history still includes Monday's payroll in the YTD.

  3. I run a new payroll or run a report, Monday's payroll isn't in the YTD.
    โ€‹

To run a report that shows a breakdown of your current YTD please check this article.

Did this answer your question?